clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State's Braxton Miller, Andrew Norwell named first team 2012 All-Big Ten offense

The Buckeyes' Braxton Miller and Andrew Norwell were both honored by the media as first team 2012 All-Big Ten while Carlos Hyde, Philly Brown, and Jack Mewhort received second team praise.

Braxton Miller was named the winner of the Griese-Brees QB.
Braxton Miller was named the winner of the Griese-Brees QB.

The Big Ten conference announced their 2012 All-Big Ten teams and individual awards as awarded by both the league media and the coaches Monday evening. Quarterback Braxton Miller and guard Andrew Norwell were both named all-first team by the media but no Buckeyes were honored on the first team by the league's coaches. Nebraska's Taylor Martinez was the first team quarterback selected the coaches while Norwell was replaced on the coaches team by Michigan's Patrick Omameh.

Miller was joined on the coaches' second team by Corey "Philly" Brown at wide receiver and Carlos Hyde at running back. Hyde and left tackle Jack Mewhort were also named all-Big Ten second team by the media. The Buckeyes' center Corey Linsley, Mewhort, and Norwell were names honorable mention by the coaches while Corey Brown, tackle Reid Fragel, and Linsley were named honorable mention by the media.

The Buckeyes' sophomore quarterback also took home the Griese-Brees quarterback of the year award awarded to the league's best quarterback by the Big Ten media. Braxton finished the season with 3310 total yards and 28 TDs. While it's no Heisman Trophy, it's a pretty prestigious honor for a young player who's own coach admitted he had much to improve on as both a runner and a passer earlier today.