clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football's Inaugural Playoff To Kick Off After 2014 Season

The king is dead; long live the king.
The king is dead; long live the king.

WASHINGTON -- The NCAA's four team playoff is official. NCAA presidents voted overwhelming to rubber stamp what will be the first playoff in the Football Bowl Championship Subdivision history and announced their actions during a Tuesday, 6:00 p.m. press conference in the nation's capital. While the name is still to be determined (and those involved are open to suggestion), the new agreement is a 12-year deal and begins following the 2014 regular season. A selection committee will pick the four teams in 2014-2015 (though the participants and make up are also still to be determined).The esteemed Andy Staples asked the first question at the historic press conference, simply "what took you so long?"

There will be six bowls that participate in the arrangement. The semifinal games will rotate amongst those on a predetermined basis but the specifics of the rotation and which bowls will make it up has also not been decided to this point (though the current 4 BCS bowls are probable and the Rose essentially guaranteed to be included). The national championship game as expected will be hosted by the highest-bidding city.

Monday, January 12th, 2015 will mark the first national title game where in which both participants will be winners of a national semifinal. It took far longer than it ever should've, but we've finally arrived.

L'chaim, college football fans.