clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State Names John Simon, Zach Boren, Etienne Sabino, Garrett Goebel, & Jordan Hall Team Captains For The 2012 Season

Aye aye, captain.
Aye aye, captain.

Urban Meyer revealed his first group of captains as Ohio State head coach Sunday. Defensive lineman John Simon, fullback Zach Boren, and middle linebacker Etienne Sabino will share the honors during the 2012 season. Unlike the 2011 season, which saw a rotating captaincy until late in the season, Ohio State will bring the same group to the coin toss week in, week out.

Simon was a no brainer given his dominance on and off the field, the respect he garners in the locker room, as well as his admiration from his head coach. Boren is expected to be utilized in a variety of creative ways within Urban Meyer and Tom Herman's offense this fall. Sabino, while thought by some to be no lock to even keep his starting job, has been heralded throughout fall camp as a leader who helped the younger linebackers learn their playbook. The trio, in fact, made their first appearance collectively at Big Ten Media Days 2012 in Chicago back in July. Joining them are fifth year defensive lineman Garrett Goebel and senior running back Jordan Hall. Hall is expected to miss at least the first two games due to injury.

What are your thoughts on Ohio State's 2012 captains? Was anyone omitted or do you think this group is thorough enough?