clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State's Miller, Hyde, Philly Brown, Linsley, Mewhort, Norwell named 2013 All-Big Ten

Six offensive Buckeyes were honored by the Big Ten's media and coaches on Monday evening.

Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports

The Big Ten Conference announced their 2013 All-Big Ten teams and some individual awards as voted on by both the league's media and coaches Monday evening. Quarterback Braxton Miller and running back Carlos Hyde were named to the first team by both the conference and the media.

The Buckeyes' junior quarterback also took home the Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year award for the second straight year awarded to the league's best quarterback by the Big Ten media. Hyde was honored as the Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year after becoming Urban Meyer's first ever 1,000 yard rushers at tailback.

Buckeyes senior wide receiver Corey Brown was also named All-Big Ten second team by the league's coaches. The media opted for Indiana's Cody Latimer instead.

On the o-line, the nation's second best rushing offense had a trio honored (but in seemingly uneven fashion). Center Corey Linsley was all first team by the coaches, while Jack Mewhort and Andrew Norwell were on the coaches' second team. Linsley, Mewhort, and Norwell were all first team choices by the media.

Guard Marcus Hall, tight end Jeff Heuerman, wide receiver Devin Smith, and kicker Drew Basil were all-Big Ten honorable mention, while backup quarterback Kenny Guiton was named Ohio State's 2013 Big Ten Sportsmanship honoree.

The league will be announcing their 2013 Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, and Coach of the Year tomorrow.