clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State names 8 captains including Braxton Miller, Ryan Shazier

Ohio State unveiled their 2013 football captains Tuesday evening.

Christian Bryant was named an Ohio State captain Tuesday.
Christian Bryant was named an Ohio State captain Tuesday.

Ohio State unveiled their newly minted 2013 football captains Tuesday evening. The players had previously met yesterday afternoon at 2:15 p.m. to have a vote on the matter. After meeting yesterday and today (and following originally announcing that the captains would be unveiled tomorrow or Thursday), the program revealed that they would start with eight captains and then decide at season's end who will be recognized as the season's captains.

Left tackle Jack Mewhort, free safety C.J. Barnett, strong safety Christian Bryant, backup quarterback Kenny Guiton, starting quarterback Braxton Miller, linebacker Ryan Shazier, center Corey Linsley, and wide receiver Corey Brown filled out the eight players receiving the prestigious honor.

According to head coach Urban Meyer, the player vote was extremely tight, with eight players coming within but 12 votes of one another. "It's the first time I've done something like this," Meyer added.

A year ago, during Urban Meyer's inaugural stint in Columbus (which would lead to just the sixth undefeated season in Ohio State school history), the Buckeyes named defensive lineman John Simon, defensive lineman Garrett Goebel, linebacker Etienne Sabino, fullback Zach Boren, and running back Jordan Hall as the team's captains.