clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

J.T. Barrett, Pat Elflein, Jeff Heuerman, Taylor Decker named to 2014 All-Big Ten teams

Four Buckeyes were named to the media and coaches' all-Big Ten first and second teams.

Greg Bartram-USA TODAY Sports

With the Big Ten's regular season now comfortably in the rear view, the league's coaches and medias unveiled their 2014 All-Big Ten conference teams on Monday on the Big Ten Network.

The face of the 2014 team and the now missing heart-and-soul as the Buckeyes try to move on and still prove victorious in Saturday's Big Ten Championship Game, J.T. Barrett, was named to the 2014 All-Big Ten first team. Barrett was also recognized by the league as the 2014 Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year.

In a bit of a surprise, the coaches went with Ohio State guard Pat Elfein while the media went with Minnesota's Zac Epping. Elfelin was all-Big Ten second team for the media. Elfelin first started for the Buckeyes during last year's Big Ten Championship Game after Marcus Hall was unofficially suspended for his infamous actions during the Michigan game.

Buckeyes offensive tackle (and primary Barrett blindside protector) Taylor Decker, a junior second year starter, was also honored by the Big Ten's media and coaches, but not on the first team as some had expected. Jeff Heuerman joined Decker on second team for both the media and coaches.

Offensive tackle Darryl Baldwin, running back Ezekiel Elliott, and receivers Devin Smith, Evan Spencer, and Michael Thomas were all honorable mention honorees.

The league will reveal their individual awards (including their offensive player of the year) tomorrow at 6 p.m. ET.