clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Joey Bosa, Doran Grant, Michael Bennett, Joshua Perry named 2014 All-Big Ten

Four Buckeye defensive stars were named to the Big Ten's all-defense teams.

Jonathan Ernst/Getty Images

Following in the footsteps of the media and coaches' All-Big Ten offensive teams, the league's best of the best on defense were also released on the Big Ten Network Monday evening.

Ohio State star sophomore defensive end Joey Bosa was amongst those recognized. Bosa was the lone unanimous choice by the coaches and media amongst defensive linemen. Accordingly, he was named the Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year. Doran Grant was also a All-Big Ten first team honoree, selected by the coaches. Minnesota's great Briean Boddy-Calhoun was the coaches' choice. Grant was selected to the coaches' all-Big Ten second team.

Bosa's fellow defensive lineman Michael Bennett was also recognized for his outstanding play on the defensive line by both the coaches and the media. OSU leading tackler Joshua Perry, though not a first teamer by either the coaches or the media, was honored on the second team for the media as well.

Safety Vonn Bell, defensive tackle Adolphus Washington, and punter Cameron Johnston were all honorable mention honorees.

The Big Ten will announce their individual player honors (defensive player of the year amongst them) tomorrow at 6 p.m. ET on the Big Ten Network.