clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Who should be on Ohio State's Mount Rushmore? LGHL & Big Ten Network want your vote

We're partnering with the Big Ten Network to help decide who should go on Ohio State's Mount Rushmore for football players, and we need your help.

Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

We, along with the other Big Ten blogs across SB Nation, are partnering with BTN on a cool project to help decide who should be on the proverbial Mt Rushmore for every Big Ten school. At a place like Ohio State, with such a deep, rich football history, that's a pretty tough call. How can you narrow the list down to just four? Heck, more than four Buckeyes have won the Heisman trophy, after all.

BTN decided to take a stab at narrowing the list down to 10, and we'll take it from here...but we need your help. Below, we'll give you a short bio of every candidate, along with a place to vote yourself. On Wednesday, we'll provide our own staff endorsements in case you can't make up your mind. BTN will decide their four winners based on your vote. The Ohio State winners will be announced on Wednesday, December 17th on BTN at 6 PM Eastern, so be sure to tune in to find out who gets picked.

Here are the candidates. Don't forget to vote at the bottom!

Howard Cassady (1952-55)

- College Football Hall of Fame Inductee, 1979
- His #40 was third number retired by the Buckeyes
- 1955 Heisman (largest winning margin ever at the time), Maxwell, AP Athlete of the Year Awards
- Two-time Consensus All-American (1954-55)
- Earned "Hopalong" nickname after three TD debut as freshmen vs Indiana

Eddie George (1992-95)
- College Football Hall of Fame Inductee, 2011
- His #27 was retired by the Buckeyes
- 1995 Heisman, Maxwell, Camp, Walker & Brown Awards
- Consensus All-American (1995)
- Rushed for school records with 1,927 yds, 24 TD's during senior season (1995)

Archie Griffin (1972-75)
- College Football Hall of Fame Inductee, 1986
- Named the Rose Bowl's "Player of the Century" in 2013 (One of two players to start in four)
- His #45 was first jersey retired by the Buckeyes
- Only two-time Heisman Trophy winner in award's history (1974-75)
- Finished career as NCAA's all-time leading rusher (5,589 yards)

Chic Harley (1916-17, 1919)
- Member of Associated Press' All-First Half of Century Team, 1950
- Ohio State's first Consensus Three-Time All-American (1916-17, 1919)
- Harley's 8.74 points per game remains OSU's all-time school record
- Buckeyes were 20-1-1 during his three-year career
- Inspired by a $1.3M fundraising drive in 1920, Ohio Stadium is often referenced as the "House that Harley Built"

Les Horvath (1940-42, 1944)
- College Football Hall of Fame Inductee, 1969
- His #22 was retired by the Buckeyes in 2001
- Became Ohio State's first Heisman Trophy winner, 1944
- Member of Buckeyes' first National Championship team, 1942

Vic Janowicz (1949-51)
- College Football Hall of Fame Inductee, 1976
- His #32 was retired by the Buckeyes in 2004
- Heisman Trophy winner, 1950
- Janowicz was also a tremendous safety, intercepting two passes and returning one for a TD in the 1950 Rose Bowl

Orlando Pace (1993-96)
- College Football Hall of Fame Inductee, 2013
- Named one of two Tackles on Sports Illustrated's "NCAA Football All-Century Team", 1999
- Finished 4th in 1996 Heisman Trophy voting (highest finish for OL/DL since Hugh Green was 2nd in 1980)
- Lombardi Award (1995-96; only two-time winner) and Outland Award (1996) winner
- Did not allow a sack in final two collegiate seasons

Troy Smith (2003-06)
- Ohio State Athletics Hall of Fame Inductee, 2014
- 2006 Heisman,  Camp, O'Brien and Chicago Tribune Silver Football awards
- First Buckeyes QB to win three straight games vs MICH (1,151 total yds, 9 TD's)
- Led OSU to 42-39 in historic #2 MICH/#1 OSU game in 2006 (316 total yds, 4 TD's)
- Offensive MVP, 2006 Fiesta Bowl

Chris Spielman (1984-87)
- College Football Hall of Fame Inductee, 2009
- 1987 Lombardi Award winner
- Two-time Consensus All-American (1986-87), Three-time All-Big Ten selection (1985-87)
- Still holds school record with 283 career solo tackles, third with 546 total tackles (School-record 29 vs MICH in 1986)
- Member of two Big Ten Championship teams

Jack Tatum (1968-1970)
- College Football Hall of Fame Inductee, 2004
- 1970 National Defensive Player of the Year
- Two-time unanimous All-American (1969-70), Three-time All-Big Ten selection (1968-70)
- Buckeyes were 27-2 during three seasons as starter including 1968 National Championship
- Super Bowl XI Champion (Oakland Raiders)