clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State's Raekwon McMillan named finalist for the 2015 Butkus Award

McMillan won the Butkus Award in high school, and is hoping to add a collegiate one to his resume.

Joe Maiorana-USA TODAY Sports

With just one game left in the regular season, outside linebacker Raekwon McMillan is one of five finalists for the 2015 Butkus Award. Not new to this award, McMillan won the high school Butkus Award in 2013.

McMillan has amassed a total of 105 combined tackles, 50 solo, along with 1.5 sacks and three passes defended this season. He's had three games where he recorded at least 14 combined tackles and also has one fumble recovery on the year.

This award is given annually to the best linebacker in high school, college and professional football. The winner is decided by an independent selection committee with 51 experts, including professional, college and high school scouts, and sports journalists, and will be named by December 8th.

McMillan is in good company, with other finalists including Leonard Floyd (Georgia), Deion Jones (LSU), Reggie Ragland (Alabama) and Jaylon Smith (Notre Dame). Jaylon Smith won the high school Butkus Award in 2012 and is a two time nominee.

UCLA's Eric Kendricks won the award last year, and went on to earn a starting role with the Minnesota Vikings in the NFL.