clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State-Minnesota 2015 depth chart: Cardale Jones back at starting quarterback

Cardale Jones returns as the starting quarterback as J.T. Barrett serves his suspension.

Cardale Jones returns at starting quarterback for Ohio State.
Cardale Jones returns at starting quarterback for Ohio State.
Jim O'Connor-USA TODAY Sports

depth chart week 9

The disappointing news of J.T. Barrett's troubles on Saturday morning does mean that Ohio State will give Cardale Jones another go at quarterback, following Barrett's one-game suspension. Coming off a bye week, the Buckeyes should be ready to go against a faltering Minnesota team and Jones shouldn't have too much trouble. The last time we saw him in action was against Penn State, in which he went 9-of-15 for 84 yards. Braxton Miller is listed as the backup to Jones, with Barrett not listed on the depth chart.

No surprises at running back with Ezekiel Elliott as the starter. Elliott is in the midst of a Heisman campaign as he tries to beat out the favorite for the award, LSU running back Leonard Fournette. Bri'onte Dunn and Warren Ball back up Elliott as usual.

Curtis Samuel, Jalin Marshall, and Michael Thomas are your starters at wide receiver. Parris Campbell, Terry McLaurin, and James Clark are your backups to the starters. They'll need to be sharp on Saturday to provide Jones chances to do what he does best.

Braxton Miller remains the starter at H-back. Coach Meyer mentioned in his press conference that Miller is also the backup quarterback, should anything happen to Cardale Jones. Dontre Wilson is the backup.

The tight end spot is firmly locked down by Nick Vannett, with Marcus Baugh listed as the backup once again. No change there, nor would I expect one for the remainder of the season, barring injury.

The offensive line stays the same up front, with Taylor Decker, Billy Price, Jacoby Boren, Pat Elflein, and Chase Farris (from left to right).

Switching to defense, from one end to the other, the starters on the defensive line are listed as Joey Bosa, Adolphus Washington, and Tyquan Lewis. Sam Hubbard is the backup to Bosa, while Donovan Munger OR Tracy Sprinkle backs up Washington. Joel Hale OR Michael Hill are listed at starting defensive tackle, while Jayln Holmes backs up Lewis with Darius Slade closing that side of the line out.

The linebackers remain the same with Joshua Perry at weak outside linebacker, Raekwon McMillan in at middle linebacker, and Darron Lee finishing at strong outside linebacker.

At cornerback, nothing has changed as Gareon Conley and Eli Apple man the outside edges. Damon Webb has been cleared to play, though the backups remain Marshon Lattimore and Denzel Ward. For safeties, the starters are still Vonn Bell and Tyvis Powell. Jarrod Barnes remains Bell's backup, while Malik Hooker remains Powell's backup.

Jalin Marshall remains the starter at punt returner. Dontre Wilson backs up Marshall at punt return.

Jack Willoughby is listed as the lone starter for the first time this season. Nuernberger had been listed alongside him in previous weeks with the OR attached to their names. Johnston is still the starting punter and that won't change for the foreseeable future. Dontre Wilson and Curtis Samuel are the starters at kick return.