clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Joey Bosa, Raekwon McMillan lead 2015 Ohio State All-Big Ten honorees

Standout Buckeye defenders received All-Big Ten honors Monday night.

Greg Bartram-USA TODAY Sports

The best of the Big Ten on the defensive side of the ball were revealed Monday night on Big Ten Network, and it included plenty of Buckeyes.

Joey Bosa (unanimous), Raekwon McMillan (media), Joshua Perry (coaches), and Vonn Bell (media) were all named defensive All-Big Ten first team. Bosa was a first team player last season, and Perry on second team. Bell was an honorable mention by the conference last season.

Lineman Adolphus Washington was unanimous all-Big Ten second team while sophomore corner Eli Apple was all-Big Ten second team per the coaches. Punter Cam Johnston was unanimous second team as well.

Buckeyes linebacker Darron Lee was selected as All-Big Ten third team by the league's voting media.

Honorable mention acknowledgement went to sophomore tackle Tyquan Lewis, safety Tyvis Powell, sophomore Gareon Conley, and return specialist sophomore Jalin Marshall.

Bosa has 16 of tackles for a loss along with five sacks on the year. Though his numbers aren't as prolific as some of his fellow all-conference honorees, his having been double and triple teamed all season has a lot to do with that.

Raekwon McMillan leads the Buckeyes with 114 tackles on the season. McMillan has 61 assisted tackles, an attribute of a linebacker who is all over the field, and to say that about him could possibly even be an understatement. McMillan expects to make the tackle on every play, and it shows.

Joshua Perry finds himself on this list in his senior campaign, second on the team in tackles with 98. He leads Ohio State linebackers with 3.5 sacks on the season. His character has always been one of high praise, and it's good to see Perry get recognition for his game as well.

Vonn Bell Academy -- What else is there to say? The guy is an absolute ballhawk. Bell is tied for interceptions on the team with two on the year. He leads a Buckeye secondary that has been extremely effective this season, and it should come as no surprise to see his name on the list.

The Big Ten will announce awards on the offensive side of the ball tomorrow on Big Ten Network at 6 p.m. ET.