clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Logan Stieber wins 4th NCAA wrestling national title

Ohio State's Logan Stieber became one of only four wrestlers in history to win four NCAA championships.

Joe Maiorana-USA TODAY Sports

College wrestling's Mount Rushmore finally has its fourth face. Tonight Ohio State's Logan Stieber joined Pat Smith, Cael Sanderson, and Kyle Dake as the only wrestlers in history to win four NCAA championships. It wasn't an easy road. Stieber's opponent in tonight's final match was Mitchell Port, the consensus No. 2 wrestler at the weight and someone who hung with Logan before dropping a close 6-3 decision victory at the National Duals.

Still, as the Buckeye senior took the mat in the last match of the evening, there was a feeling of inevitability in the air. Port was talented enough to beat him, but everything that we have learned about Stieber in his four years at Ohio State taught us that he wouldn't. And he didn't. Stieber wrestled a great match, ultimately defeating Port 11-5, sending the crowd into a frenzy and permanently etching his name alongside the best wrestlers in the history of the sport.

Perhaps most important for Logan wasn't what his win meant for himself, but what it meant for his team. Behind Logan's dominant weekend that saw him collect four bonus-point victories, this afternoon Ohio State clinched its first ever team championship. All season long Stieber has placed the goal of winning the team title on the same level as winning his fourth individual crown. Is anyone surprised that he was able to end the year with both? Could the career of the greatest wrestler in the history of the Ohio State program have ended without him leading the team to its first-ever national championship? Sure, it could have. But we all kind of knew that it wouldn't.

Logan Stieber at a glance

  • The four opponents that Logan Stieber defeated to win his NCAA championships were Jordan Oliver (Oklahoma State), Tony Ramos (Iowa), Devin Carter (Virginia Tech), and Mitchell Port (Edinboro). Both Oliver and Ramos won championships in years when they didn't have to face Stieber.
  • Stieber ends his career with more national titles (4) than career losses (3). All three of his career losses occurred during the regular season and were then avenged in the NCAA or Big Ten tournament. In his final three seasons at Ohio State, Stieber lost only one match.
  • Next on the agenda for Logan Stieber is a move to the Ohio Regional Training Center where he will focus on freestyle wrestling and the 2016 Olympics.