clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State wins first ever team wrestling national championship

The Wrestling Buckeyes make their share of the case for Columbus, OH as Title Town, USA.

Ohio State athletics

On the heels of the football team making history as the College Football Playoff's inaugural champ, Tom Ryan's bunch decided to up the ante.

Helped in no small part by a third place finish from Bo Jordan at 165, who won with a fall, Ohio State clinched the outright 2015 team title early on the afternoon with an entire's day of action to come. Iowa in all likelihood needed a 4-0 performance in the consolation semifinals in order to put the heat on the Buckeyes but were only able to muster a 2-2 split, and their 1-3 showing in the placement matches effectively sealed it. Unseeded redshirt junior Kenny Courts gave the Buckeyes at least a split crown with a win in the 184-pound fifth place match before an Iowa win by decision made things official.

Three OSU wrestlers remain alive in the finals and Buckeye bell cow (and living legend) Logan Stieber continues to chase history with his 141-pound title bout to come at 10:40 p.m. tonight on ESPN (Channel 1301 Time Warner Columbus/Delaware). The finals themselves get underway at 8 p.m.

Congratulations to the wrestling Buckeyes on this incredible achievement. All of us will be hard pressed to forget their remarkable, program history making run anytime soon.

Go Bucks.