clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Why is this news?: Stieber wins Hodge Trophy, Braxton Miller AdvoCare update

All the big Ohio State news, in one helpful place.

Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports

The NCAA wrestling season is over but that doesn’t mean Ohio State’s Logan Stieber is done collecting accolades. Already a four-time Big Ten champion, a four-time National Champion, the Big Ten wrestler of the year and the NCAA Tournament’s Most Outstanding wrestler, Stieber now can claim another honor; Hodge Trophy winner.

The Hodge Trophy is college wrestling’s version of the Heisman Trophy and is handed out after each season to the "most outstanding college wrestler of the year." In 2015, Stieber went 29-0 with 22 of his victories earning bonus points (meaning they were major decisions, tech falls, or pins). In fact, Stieber won all but one of his NCAA tournament matches by bonus points and in the Big Ten tournament, he recorded a 16-1 tech fall over Iowa’s Josh Dziewa in just over three minutes.

Stieber is the first Ohio State wrestler to win the Hodge Trophy.

Ohio State fans worried about Braxton Miller’s eligibility in the wake of the recent AdvoCare controversy can breathe easy…maybe. This morning head coach Urban Meyer told Todd Porter of the Canton Repository that there was "no issue" related to the Instagram posts.

Seems like good news, right? Well, maybe not as a the Ohio State athletic department was a little bit more guarded in its comments, telling the Dispatch that :

"there has been no final determination because the school is seeking clarification on some issues from the NCAA." The spokesman added that the school hopes to have final word in a week or so."

So stay tuned. This whole ridiculous episode will probably amount to nothing, but with the NCAA you never know.

The year of the Buckeye continues as for the 29th time the Ohio State synchronized swimming team won the US Collegiate National Championship. Ohio State edged out defending champion Lindenwood 93.0 – 89.0 to earn the crown. It’s a great time to be a Buckeye fan.

Just seven days after it won the first national championship in the history of the program, the Ohio State wrestling team was back together in St. John Arena. This time, though, it wasn’t to complete. It was to celebrate. Ohio State President Drake addressed the crowd as did Athletic Director Gene Smith, Hea Coach Tom Ryan and national champions Logan Stieber and Nathan Tomasello.