clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jim Tressel, Joey Galloway to be inducted into Ohio State Hall of Fame

A number of Buckeye greats will be enshrined by the school this fall.

Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

Despite still being under a show cause penalty related to the barter-for-tattoo scandal that ended his career prematurely at Ohio State, national champion Ohio State head coach Jim Tressel will be inducted into OSU's Hall of Fame Friday, Sept. 18, and then honored at the Northern Illinois football game, Sept. 19.

Tressel headlines a Hall of Fame class that also includes legendary wide receiver Joey Galloway, defensive lineman Tim Anderson as well as former Big Ten Player of the Year Terence Dials of the men's basketball team.

Those four are joined by Justin Cook (men’s soccer), Lara Dickenmann (women’s soccer), Natalia Diea (women’s diving), Annabelle Fago (rowing), Therese Hession (women’s golf coach), J Jaggers (wrestling), Perry Martter (wrestling), Teresa Meyers (pistol), Dan Seimetz (baseball), and Paul Tilley (men’s hockey).

According to Ohio State, the Hall of Fame was created in 1977 and has inducted 285 men and 111 women through 2014. Anderson and Galloway will bring the total football players in the hall to 115 while Tressel will be the 13th coach (sixth football) to be inducted.