clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Logan Stieber named 2014-2015 Big Ten Male Athlete of the Year

Another accolade for one of the greatest Buckeyes ever.

Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports

After wrapping a senior season (and career) for the ages with a team national title, Ohio State star wrestler Logan Stieber was named the 2014-15 Big Ten Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year. Maryland women's lacrosse player Taylor Cummings was named his female counterpart for the individual honors.

Each Big Ten member school nominated a male and a female athlete of the year, with Stieber being joined by senior rower (and New Albany product) Ashley Bauer. Bauer helped the Buckeyes win a historic third consecutive national title recently.

Stieber's record shattering career culminated in his becoming just the fourth individual ever to win four NCAA wrestling national titles. In the process, he became the first Big Ten athlete to do so, the first Buckeye to win the Dan Hodge Trophy (the Heisman of wrestling), the first Buckeye to win four Big Ten individual titles, and the winningest wrestler in Ohio State history.

Stieber's next challenge will come in attempting to make a run at the Olympics and represent not just Ohio State, but his country. Best of luck to the Buckeye legend and congrats on another well deserved honor.