clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Joey Bosa, Taylor Decker headline Ohio State Nagurski, Outland Trophy nominees

More award watch lists, more Ohio State Buckeyes.

Chuck Cook-USA TODAY Sports

Five Ohio State Buckeyes were named to the Bronco Nagurski Award watch list, which is handed out to the best defensive player of the year.

Safety Vonn Bell, defensive end Joey Bosa, linebackers Darron Lee and Joshua Perry, as well as defensive tackle Adolphus Washington were the five Buckeyes named to the Nagurski watch list.

Vonn Bell had 92 total tackles and six interceptions for the Buckeyes last season in 14 games at safety.

Joey Bosa, perhaps the most feared player in college football, had 55 total tackles last season, 13.5 sacks, and four forced fumbles. His fellow defensive lineman, Adolphus Washington, totaled 48 tackles, and 4.5 sacks.

Linebackers Darron Lee and Joshua Perry make for one of the scariest linebacker duos in the nation, and reasonably so. Lee posted 81 total tackles, 16.5 of those for loss, two interceptions, and two fumbles recovered for touchdowns. Opposite Lee, Perry had 124 total tackles last season, 8.5 of those for loss, as well as three sacks.

James Laurinaitis is the only Buckeye to win the award, back in 2006.

Along with the Nagurski Award watch list, three Buckeyes were also named to the Outland Trophy watch list. These Buckeyes include left tackle Taylor Decker, offensive guard Pat Elflein, and defensive tackle Adolphus Washington. Decker and Elflein were key in protecting J.T. Barrett and Cardale Jones last season, as well as helping pave the way for run after run from Ezekiel Elliott.

Jim Parker, Jim Stillwagon, John Hicks, and Orlando Pace are the only four Buckeyes to win the award in previous years.