clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Michael Thomas named to Biletnikoff, Joshua Perry, Bryce Haynes to Wuerffel watch lists

The preseason recognition just keeps on coming.

Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

The Biletnikoff Award and Danny Wuerffel Trophy watch lists were released today, featuring a trio of Ohio State Buckeyes. Michael Thomas was named to the Biletnikoff Award watch list, while teammates Joshua Perry and Bryce Haynes were named to the Wuerffel Trophy watch list.

Thomas played in all 15 games last season during his sophomore campaign at Ohio State, racking up 54 receptions for 799 yards and nine touchdowns. Thomas was the team leader in receptions, and second in receiving yards. His most notable play of the season game when he made a spectacular grab against Alabama in the Sugar Bowl.

Joshua Perry received recognition on the Wuerffel Trophy watch list, in part for his efforts in May, when he went to Costa Rica as part of the "Soles 4 Souls" program and spent a week distributing shoes to those in need. His teammate, Bryce Haynes has spent a great deal of his free time on medical missions in places such as Peru and Nicaragua. He also visits nursing homes in the Columbus area as a part of a group called Buckeyes Against Alzheimer's.

The Biletnikoff Award, named after former Florida State, and 6-time Pro Bowl wide receiver Fred Biletnikoff, is given to the nation's best college football receiver by the Tallahassee Quarterback Foundation every year. The award was first given out in 1994, and Ohio State's only winner, Terry Glenn, won the award back in its second year of existence, back in 1995.

The Wuerffel Trophy has been given out every year since 2005 in honor of former Florida Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel, by the All Sports Association. The award is given out to the college football player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement. Joel Penton was the first and only Buckeye to win the award back in 2006.