clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Cardale Jones named to Davey O'Brien Award watch list

Cardale receives the nod for finishing out the 2014 season.

Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

After being named to the Maxwell Award watch list last week, Cardale Jones has been named to the Davey O'Brien Award watch list. The release from the Davey O'Brien Foundation noted with an asterisk that since Jones was the quarterback who finished the 2014 season for the Buckeyes, and a 2015 starter had not been named, he was listed.

Jones stepped into the starting quarterback role for the Buckeyes after J.T. Barrett went down early with an ankle injury in the Michigan game, and more than handled business. Jones led the Buckeyes to their three biggest wins in the season, as well as two of the biggest in the school's history in the Sugar Bowl against Alabama, and in the National Championship game against Oregon. In those three games, Jones threw for 742 yards and five touchdown passes.

The Davey O'Brien Trophy, named after the former TCU quarterback, has been given out since 1977, and became exclusive to quarterbacks back in 1981. Troy Smith is the only Ohio State quarterback to win the award back in 2006, the same year he won the Heisman Trophy.