clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State names 6 captains for 2015 including J.T. Barrett

Is the Ohio State quarterback battle already decided?

Late Friday, Ohio State announced through the state run Urban Meyer Twitter account their six captains for the 2015 season.

Joining senior linemen Jacoby Boren and Taylor Decker are linebacker Joshua Perry (a virtual lock for the honor since he was chosen to both attend and speak at Big Ten Media Days) as well as safety Tyvis Powell and former starting quarterback (and captain) Braxton Miller.

In perhaps the only surprise in the group, redshirt sophomore quarterback J.T. Barrett, thought to still be competing for the starting quarterback role he held for 12 games last year after Miller went down with a season ending injury, was also given the honor.

Though Meyer could still certainly pull one over everyone and start the same quarterback who led the Buckeyes to a Big Ten championship, Sugar Bowl championship, and eventually national title in Cardale Jones, Barrett getting the honor at the very least confirms what we've known for sometime in that he has the respect of his teammates and coaches for his leadership potential and could well have the inside track to be the Buckeyes' QB1 vs. Virginia Tech.

Ohio State opens their season Sept. 7 at 8 p.m. ET against the Hokies in Blacksburg on ESPN.