clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

J.T. Barrett wins Griese–Brees Big Ten Quarterback of the Year for second time

Buckeye QBs have won the award in four of the last five years.

NCAA Football: Michigan at Ohio State Greg Bartram-USA TODAY Sports

During their Offensive Award show on Wednesday night, the Big Ten Conference announced that Ohio State Quarterback J.T. Barrett had won the Griese–Brees Quarterback of the Year Award for the second time. The junior first won the award in 2014.

The signal-caller has guided the Buckeyes to an 11-1 record in 2016, and the team currently sits as the second-ranked team in the College Football Playoff rankings. This season, Barrett has thrown for 2,428 yards and 24 touchdowns, and rushed for 847 yards and another nine scores.

A two-time team captain, Barrett holds the school-record for touchdowns with 98, and holds 19 school and Big Ten Conference records.

The Griese–Brees award, established in 2011, is named for former Purdue quarterbacks Bob Griese and Drew Brees. Since 2011, Ohio State QBs have won the honor in four of the six years; in addition to Barrett’s trophies, Braxton Miller won the award in 2012 and 2013.