clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

J.T. Barrett named co-Chicago Tribune Silver Football Award winner

The award, voted on by head coaches, goes to the Big Ten’s best.

NCAA Football: Michigan at Ohio State Greg Bartram-USA TODAY Sports

J.T. Barrett statistically didn’t have his best season in scarlet and gray, but as proven in the second half and overtimes of this year’s classic Ohio State-Michigan, the Buckeye captain’s impact extends beyond traditional passing stats.

After helping Ohio State to another Big Ten East division title (this one shared with Penn State, who’d represent the division in and go on to win the Big Ten Championship Game), Barrett finds himself splitting honors with a Nittany Lion again as outstanding PSU running back Saquon Barkley received an equal number of votes as Barrett.

The two stars were named the Chicago Tribunes’ Silver Football honorees for the 2016 season. The pair join former Buckeyes like Ezekiel Elliott and Braxton Miller (two-time winner) as recipients of the prestigious honor. Kerry Collins, Michael Robinson, and Daryll Clark are all former Penn State winners.

Buckeyes Curtis Samuel and Malik Hooker also received votes for the award. Samuel finished fourth in the voting but had the second most first place votes of any vote getter after the co-winners. Michigan’s Jabrill Peppers finished third behind the two award getters.

The Chicago Tribune's honor has gone to the best player in the Big Ten since all the way back in 1924. Every coach in the league submits a first and second place vote for the players they deem the two best in the league, but aren't allowed to vote for their own guys.