clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State center Pat Elflein wins the 2016 Rimington Trophy for the nation’s best center

The Buckeye is raking in the awards this year.

National Championship - Oregon v Ohio State Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images

The only draft-eligible offensive lineman to return in 2016, Pat Elflein is starting to clean up with postseason awards, winning the Rimington Trophy at Thursday’s College Football Awards. The Ohio State senior made the move from right guard to center just before the 2016 season and had earlier been named to SB Nation’s 2016 College Football All-America Team, the Big Ten Conference's Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year and a first-team all-Big Ten player.

Earlier in the season, Buckeye head coach Urban Meyer called Elflein returning for this year was invaluable. Since then, he’s been the leader of the offense line and stepped into his new position working directly with quarterback J.T. Barrett. He’s been a big reason the Ohio State rushing offense ranks No. 9 in the nation and No. 9 in scoring.

The Rimington Trophy is presented to the premier centers in the FCS, Division II, Division III, and NAIA divisions.