clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State baseball lands five on Big Ten all-tournament team, headed to Louisville regional for NCAA tournament

The Buckeyes represented well in their championship run in Omaha.

Ohio State Athletics

The real season has just begun for the Ohio State baseball team. After running the gauntlet to win the Big Ten tournament championship, the Buckeyes are now headed to the Louisville regional as a 2-seed for NCAA tourney play.

Ohio State, which won two games against both Michigan and Michigan State in Omaha before outlasting Iowa in the title game, put five players on the Big Ten's All-Tournament team.

Junior left fielder Ronnie Dawson took home Most Outstanding Player honors after hitting .578 and breaking tournament records with 15 hits and six doubles. Dawson was a first-team All-Big Ten performer during the regular season as well, and will likely be the first position player from the conference chosen in June's Major League Baseball Draft.

Joining Dawson on the All-Tournament team were catcher Jalen Washington, second baseman Troy Kuhn, shortstop Craig Nennig, and center fielder Troy Montgomery. Nennig ran wild, tying the tournament record with six stolen bases, and Washington set a record with 55 innings behind the plate while also driving in four runs. Kuhn drove in a tourney-high 10 runs and Montgomery had nine hits, four RBIs, and four runs scored.

In addition to the Cardinals, the Buckeyes will be joined in the foursome by 3-seed Wright State and 4-seed Western Michigan. The Buckeyes will be taking on the in-state Raiders in their first game Friday, June 3rd at 2 p.m. ET on ESPN3.

Minnesota and Nebraska will also be representing the Big Ten in the tournament, going to the Fort Worth and Clemson regionals, respectively.

The winners of each of the tournament's 16 regionals move on to super regional play, which determines the final eight teams that participate in the College World Series in Omaha.

Ohio State is the last Big Ten team to win the College World Series, fifty years ago, in 1966.