clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016-2017 Ohio State hockey schedule released

Ohio State hockey's Big Ten schedule was released today to complete the team's entire slate for the 2016-17 season.

Hannah Foslien/Getty Images

Ohio State hockey announced its Big Ten schedule for the 2016-17 season, in addition to the non-conference slate announced on May 25. The Buckeyes will play 16 non-conference games as well as the required 20 Big Ten conference games, with a total of 16 played at Value City Arena. Their tenth conference home game will be played at Madison Square Garden in New York City on January 28 versus Wisconsin for "Super Saturday - College Hoops & Hockey."

The Buckeyes will open their season in Denver with the Ice Breaker Tournament on October 7-8. They'll open with one of Denver, Air Force and Boston College. Denver and BC were both in the Frozen Four last season, so this will be a tough test for the maturing Bucks.

Some other non-conference highlights include a home and home series with Bowling Green on October 21 and 22, a game on New Year's Eve in Columbus versus Miami and the non-conference closer at the Schott versus NCAA hockey newbie Arizona State on January 13 and 14.

The conference slate will begin in the midst of that non-conference schedule on December 2 at defending Big Ten regular season champion Minnesota. The Buckeyes won't play Michigan until February 3 and 4 in Ann Arbor, while the Wolverines won't be paying a visit to Columbus until February 24 and 25. The conference season will end with a series at Wisconsin on March 10 and 11, with the Big Ten conference tournament then taking place in Detroit at Joe Louis Arena from March 16-18.

Here's the 2016-2017 Ohio State hockey non-conference schedule:

Ice Breaker Tournament (Denver, Colo.)
Oct. 7-8, with Denver, Air Force and Boston College
Oct. 15, at Miami
Oct. 21, at Bowling Green
Oct. 22, Bowling Green 
Oct. 28-29, at Niagara
Nov. 4, Robert Morris 
Nov. 5, at Robert Morris
Nov. 11-12, UConn
Nov. 18-19, at Rensselaer
Dec. 31, Miami
Jan. 13-14, Arizona State

And the 2016-2017 Ohio State Big Ten conference slate:

Dec. 2, at Minnesota
Dec. 3, at Minnesota
Jan. 6, Penn State
Jan. 7, Penn State
Jan. 20, at Penn State
Jan. 21, at Penn State
Jan. 26, Wisconsin
Jan. 28, vs. Wisconsin (Madison Square Garden, New York, N.Y.)
Feb. 3, at Michigan
Feb. 4, at Michigan
Feb. 10, Minnesota
Feb. 11, Minnesota
Feb. 17, at Michigan State
Feb. 18, at Michigan State
Feb. 24, Michigan
Feb. 25, Michigan
March 3, Michigan State
March 4, Michigan State
March 10, at Wisconsin
March 11, at Wisconsin
March 16-18, Big Ten Tournament (Joe Louis Arena, Detroit)