clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State adds 4 more 2016 captains

The Buckeye captaincy just got a little less exclusive.

NCAA Football: Ohio State Spring Game Aaron Doster-USA TODAY Sports

Despite seemingly reiterating in the past couple weeks that quarterback J.T. Barrett, LB Raekwon McMillan and C Pat Elflein would be Ohio State’s only captains this year, the OSU braintrust took a poll of team leadership this week and added to their 2016 captains.

Joining the trio, who were first given the honor back in January, are fifth-year senior linebacker — and former walk-on -- Joe Burger, redshirt junior corner Gareon Conley, junior defensive end Tyquan Lewis and redshirt junior guard Billy Price.

Having just three captains seemed unusual in an era of honoring seemingly as many leaders each year as possible, but the Buckeyes will no longer have to be concerned with trivialities.

Via the Coach Urban Meyer Twitter account, run by a staffer within the football program, here’s a visual representation of this year’s leadership:

Congrats to the four new additions to OSU’s 2016 corp of captains.