clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jalyn Holmes, Tyquan Lewis are first Ohio State players to accept 2018 Reese’s Senior Bowl invites

As their college careers come to an end, several Buckeyes will take the first step toward a professional football career by way of the Senior Bowl.

NCAA Football: Illinois at Ohio State Joe Maiorana-USA TODAY Sports

Back in November, it was announced that the first round of invitations for the 2018 Reese’s Senior Bowl had been sent and that there were nine Ohio State players named to the game’s Watch List. The annual event has proven to be one of the first, and most important, on a long road to the NFL Draft, with the Senior Bowl providing prospects a chance to work out with and in front of NFL scouts.

Of the nine OSU players expected to get an invite, the first Buckeye to accept was defensive end Jalyn Holmes, and the second was Holmes’ position-mate, DE Tyquan Lewis. You can put money on the fact that NFL scouts have to be drooling over another opportunity to get a DE out of Ohio State, especially with the production of players like Joey Bosa at the next level.

It shouldn’t be long before the list of Buckeyes participating in the annual event continues to grow, with Ohio State expected to send another impressive delegation to the NFL this season.

The Buckeyes we’re still waiting to hear from, include: J.T. Barrett, Marcus Baugh, Michael Hill, Jamarco Jones, Billy Price, Damon Webb and Chris Worley.

A few additional Ohio State players weren’t listed on the official preseason watch list, but are still eligible to receive invitations and play in the Senior Bowl, including Dante Booker, Elijaah Goins, Erick Smith, Tracy Sprinkle, and Zach Turnure.

The 2018 Reese’s Senior Bowl is Jan. 27, 2018 at 2:30 pm ET, and will be played at Ladd-Peebles Stadium in Mobile, Alabama.