clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State Athletics announces eight new Hall of Fame members

LeCharles Bentley and Mike Conley heading to the Hall.

Ohio State Athletics

Today, the Ohio State University announced the 2017 class of the Ohio State Athletics Hall of Fame. The group will be inducted on October 6th and introduced during halftime of the October 7th football game against Maryland.

The class includes for Buckeye football player LeCharles Bentley, current NBA star Mike Conley, Tom Byers (track and field), Chelsea Davis (diving), Pete Hanson (men’s volleyball), Bryce Keough (wrestling), Christina Manning (track and field), and Nancy Pearson (women’s swimming).

Bently will be the 122nd OSU football player enshrined in the Hall of Fame since it was established in 1977, and Conley will be the 39th member of the basketball program. The first women were inducted in 1993, and Manning will mark the 12th member of the women’s track and field program inducted.

Bentley was a four-year letter winner at Ohio State and a consensus All-American as a senior. He went on to earn two Pro Bowl selections in the NFL before injuries ended his career.

In Conley’s one season at Ohio State he was the Big Ten Tournament MVP and helped guide the team to an NCAA Championship appearance. As a member of the NBA’s Memphis Grizzlies, he’s been named to the NBA All-Defensive Second Team while becoming one of the best all-around point guards in the league.