clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dwayne Haskins named Heisman Trophy finalist, will be at ceremony on Saturday

Haskins is the first Ohio State finalist since Troy Smith won in 2006.

Big Ten Championship - Northwestern v Ohio State Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images

Following the most prolific passing season that any quarterback has ever had in Big Ten history, Ohio State QB Dwayne Haskins will now be able to add another line to his resume; one that reads “Heisman Trophy Finalist.” The Heisman Trust announced the three players that will make the trip to New York in order to take part in this Saturday, Dec. 8’s ceremony.

Haskins will be joining Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa and Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray. Haskins comes into the ceremony as an underdog in terms of actually winning the award, but making it to the ceremony is another accolade that the quarterback can add to his season of successes.

Haskins has broken more than 20 Ohio State records and more than a half dozen conference marks, including the single-season passing TDs, passing yards, total touchdowns, and total touchdowns records. Despite those successes, Haskins has been a distant third or fourth in the Heisman discussion for the last two months of the season.

However, in turning in exactly 1,300 yards, 14 touchdowns, and 2 interceptions in the final three games of the season, he moved up quickly to cement himself amongst the finalists.

Believe it or not, Haskins is the first Heisman finalist since Troy Smith won the award in 2006; J.T. Barrett finished fifth in 2014, but wasn’t invited to New York for the presentation.

While his numbers obviously warrant it, Haskins’ teammates definitely believe that his inclusion amongst the Heisman finalists was warranted. In fact, a pretty famous Buckeye fan might even think that Simba should win it!

The Heisman Trophy ceremony will air on ESPN Saturday, Dec. 8 at 8 p.m. ET. Congratulations to Dwayne and all of the finalists.