clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State men’s tennis wins third-straight Big Ten tournament

The No. 3-ranked Buckeyes are heading into the NCAA Tournament on a roll!

Ohio State Athletics

On Sunday, for the third straight season—and the 13th time in program history— the No. 3 Ohio State men’s tennis team won the Big Ten Tournament. In the finals against No. 8 Illinois, the Buckeyes quickly found themselves trailing after losing the first doubles set. However, OSU picked up breaks on courts 1 and 2 to earn the doubles point before singles play began. From there, it was fairly smooth sailing, as the Buckeyes swept the first three singles matches, and were ahead in the other three that were left unfinished.

The three OSU victories belong to No. 5 Mikael Torpegaard over No. 16 Aleks Vukic, 6-3, 6-1; No. 40 JJ Wolf over Aron Hiltzik, 6-2, 6-3; and No. 101 John McNally upsetting No. 83 Alex Brown, 6-2, 6-3.

Buckeyes No. 95 Kyle Seelig, No. 110 Martin Joyce, and Hunter Tubert were all ahead when Illinois was mathematically eliminated.

With their 13th-straight regular season championship to go along with their third-consecutive tournament title, the Buckeyes will now set their sights on the NCAA Tournament. The selection show takes place on Tuesday, May 1 at 6 p.m. EDT.

The NCAA men’s and women’s team finals will come from Winston Salem, N.C., on May 22. Last season, OSU was eliminated in the semifinals, but no doubt the Buckeyes have their sights set on celebrating like this at Wake Forest next month.