clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State baseball earns No. 7 seed in Big Ten Tournament

The Buckeyes will face No. 2 Purdue on Wednesday.

Following the conclusion of the Big Ten regular season schedule on Saturday, the conference released the eight-team bracket for this week’s conference tournament. After losing two of three against the Michigan State Spartans over the weekend, Ohio State is slotted into the seventh-seed, and will face No. 2 Purdue on Wednesday at 1 p.m. CT from TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Neb.

Big Ten Conference

The way that the B1G tournament works is a little usual, as the eight teams are broken up into two brackets, with the champs of each four-team, double-elimination pod meeting in a winner-take-all title game on Sunday, May 27. The tournament champion will receive the conference’s automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament.

Last weekend in Columbus, the Buckeyes took two of three from their first round opponent Boilermakers. However, in early April, OSU dropped two of three against the No. 6 Hawkeyes, whom they could end up facing. Ohio State did not play No. 3 Michigan during the regular season this year.

We will have much more coverage of the B1G baseball tournament throughout the week here at Land-Grant Holy Land.