clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State to send 3 veteran leaders to Big Ten Media Days

Wait, Media Days are next week? That means the season’s almost here, right?

NCAA Football: Illinois at Ohio State Joe Maiorana-USA TODAY Sports
Matt Tamanini Matt Tamanini is the co-managing editor of Land-Grant Holy Land having joined the site in 2016.

With SEC and Big XII Media Days already underway, on Monday, Ohio State announced the three players that would be accompanying head coach Urban Meyer to Chicago next week for the Big Ten edition on Monday and Tuesday, July 23 and 24.

The Buckeyes in attendance at the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile will be H-back Parris Campbell, offensive tackle Isaiah Prince, and defensive tackle Dre’Mont Jones.

Campbell and Prince are both seniors, while Jones is a junior. In addition to these players representing the team in Chicago, it is also likely that they will be included in the 2018 slate of OSU captains.

Last season, Tyquan Lewis, Billy Price, and Chris Worley made the trip to media days, and all three were among the nine players that were able to wear the metaphorical “C” on their uniforms.

For the second year in a row, the Buckeyes will not be bringing a quarterback to media days, but that actually appears to be a trend throughout the conference. Of the 14 teams in the league, only five will be bringing QBs, although Purdue is apparently bringing two. The signal-callers in Chicago will be Michigan State’s Brian Lewerke, Penn State’s Trace McSorley, Iowa’s Nate Stanley, Northwestern’s Clayton Thorson, and Purdue’s David Blough and Elijah Sindelar.

2018 Big Ten Media Days Attendees

Big Ten East Schools Players Players Players
Big Ten East Schools Players Players Players
INDIANA Jonathan Crawford, Sr., S Wes Martin, Sr., OL Luke Timian, Sr., WR
MARYLAND Derwin Gray, Sr., OL Taivon Jacobs, Sr., WR Darnell Savage Jr., Sr., DB
MICHIGAN Karan Higdon, Sr., RB Tyree Kinnel, Sr., DB Chase Winovich, Sr., DL
MICHIGAN STATE Brian Lewerke, Jr., QB LJ Scott, Sr., RB Khari Willis, Sr., S
OHIO STATE Parris Campbell, Sr., WR Dre’Mont Jones, Jr., DT Isaiah Prince, Sr., OT
PENN STATE Trace McSorley, Sr., QB Amani Oruwariye, Sr., CB Nick Scott, Sr., S
RUTGERS Blessuan Austin, Sr., DB Tariq Cole, Sr., OL Deonte Roberts, Sr., LB
Big Ten West Schools Players Players Players
ILLINOIS Nick Allegretti, Sr., OL Mike Dudek, Jr., WR Jamal Milan, Jr., DL
IOWA Parker Hesse, Sr., DE Matt Nelson, Sr., DE Nate Stanley, Jr., QB
MINNESOTA Thomas Barber, Jr., LB Carter Coughlin, Jr., LB Rodney Smith, Sr., RB
NEBRASKA Jerald Foster, Sr., OG Stanley Morgan Jr., Sr., WR Mick Stoltenberg, Sr., NT
NORTHWESTERN Nate Hall, Sr., LB Montre Hartage, Sr., CB Clayton Thorson, Sr., QB
PURDUE Markus Bailey, Jr., LB David Blough, Sr., QB Elijah Sindelar, Jr., QB
WISCONSIN Michael Deiter, Sr., OL D’Cota Dixon, Sr., S T.J. Edwards, Sr., ILB