clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State names seven captains for 2018 season

Parris Campbell and Terry McLaurin return, while Tuf Borland earns the honor as a sophomore.

Illinois v Ohio State Photo by Kirk Irwin/Getty Images

With one week left until the Ohio State Buckeyes officially kick off the 2018 football season, at Saturday’s practice, the team introduced this year’s slate of captains.

The players selected to represent the team this year are senior H-back Parris Campbell, junior safety Jordan Fuller, senior wide receiver Johnnie Dixon, junior defensive end Nick Bosa, senior wide receiver Terry McLaurin, senior offensive lineman Isaiah Prince, and sophomore Tuf Borland.

Campbell and McLaurin return as captains after being part of the nine player group last season. Borland, who presumably will be the Buckeyes’ main middle linebacker, becomes the first sophomore to earn the honor since J.T. Barrett.

With all of the controversy swirling around the program in the lead-up to the season, one would imagine that the role of the captains this year will be even more important than in years past. They will be tasked with keeping the locker room focused on the task at hand— blocking out all of the outside distractions—, especially while head coach Urban Meyer serves his on-again, off-again suspension through Week 3 of the season.

Congratulations to all seven Buckeyes on the incredible honor. Ohio State will kick off their season on Sept. 1 against the Oregon State Beavers at noon ET from Ohio Stadium. The game will be broadcast on ABC.