clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Justin Fields named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, all-conference teams revealed

Ohio State has had seven of the last eight QBs of the Year in the B1G.

Ohio State State v Michigan Photo by Leon Halip/Getty Images
Matt Tamanini Matt Tamanini is the co-managing editor of Land-Grant Holy Land having joined the site in 2016.

It wasn’t much of a surprise, but Ohio State Buckeyes’ quarterback Justin Fields was named the 2019 Big Ten Graham–George Offensive Player of the Year and the Griese–Brees Quarterback of the Year.

Fields is the fifth Buckeye to win the offensive award in the past eight years, and the seventh OSU signal-caller to win the QB award in those eight years. Wisconsin’s Russell Wilson won the award in its first year in 2011, and Michigan State’s Connor Cook won in 2015, when J.T. Barrett and Cardale Jones shared the starting spot in Columbus.

Wisconsin’s Jonathan Taylor won the Ameche–Dayne Running Back of the Year award, beating out OSU’s J.K. Dobbins, who was also named to the all-conference first team.

Eleven Buckeyes were honored on Wednesday, following up the 15 from Tuesday. Hearing their names called today were Fields, Dobbins, Jonah Jackson, Wyatt Davis (first-team), Thayer Munford, Josh Myers, Branden Bowen (second-team), Master Teague, Chris Olave, Luke Farrell (third-team), and K.J. Hill (honorable mention).