clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Shaun Wade returns for the Big Ten title game

The stars have aligned for the Ohio State Buckeyes this week

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: DEC 01 Big Ten Championship Game - Northwestern v Ohio State Photo by Jeffrey Brown/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

“The return of Wade, along with Arnette’s availability, means the Buckeyes have a full roster of cornerbacks at their disposal for just the second time in the past four games.”

—Colin Hass-Hill, Eleven Warriors

Unfortunately for Wisconsin, Ohio State is the healthiest it’s been all season. Cornerback Shaun Wade—who’s absence was quite obvious in Saturday’s game against Michigan— is no longer listed on the team’s injury report. Cornerback Damon Arnette, offensive lineman Matthew Jones and safety Josh Proctor are also listed as available for the Big Ten championship on Saturday.

And while defensive end Jonathon Cooper isn’t on the injury list, he and Ryan Day have agreed that he’d redshirt this season and return for a fifth year in 2020.

The only players listed as unavailable are:

  • WR Kamryn Babb
  • RB Marcus Crowley
  • OG Gavin Cupp
  • DL Noah Donald
  • WR Ellijah Gardiner
  • SAF Ronnie Hickman
  • WR C.J. Saunders
  • DT Taron Vincent

The full depth chart:

Chase Young is the 2019 Chicago Tribune Silver Football winner— awarded annually to the Big Ten’s best player. The award is voted on by the conference’s 14 head coaches.

According to the Chicago Tribune, Young won easily, followed by Wisconsin running back Jonathan Taylor, and two more Buckeyes— quarterback Justin Fields and running back J.K. Dobbins.

Young is Ohio State’s 21st recipient, and its first defensive player to win the award. Only six defensive players have won the award overall since its birth in 1924.

In the last eight seasons, a Buckeye has been awarded the Silver Football six times.

2019 – DE Chase Young

2018 – QB Dwayne Haskins

2016 – QB J.T. Barrett

2015 – RB Ezekiel Elliott

2013 – QB Braxton Miller

2012 – QB Braxton Miller

The award is Young’s third of the year. He was also named the Big Ten’s Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year and the Big Ten’s Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year. He is a finalist for the following awards:

  • Walter Camp Player of the Year award
  • Bronko Nagurski Trophy
  • Bednarik Award
  • Maxwell Award
  • Ted Hendricks Trophy

You’re up, Heisman voters.

The Bengals claimed offensive tackle Isaiah Prince off of waivers after the Miami Dolphins released him on Thursday, making him the third former Buckeye to join the Bengals’ offensive line. Prince will be reuniting with Michael Jordan (left guard) and Billy Price (center) who he played with during his three years at Ohio State.

Prince was drafted as the 202nd overall pick by the Dolphins in the 2019 NFL draft. He played in just four games before they parted ways.

It’s a good day to be an Ohio State Buckeye. Adding to what was already an exciting set of wins (beating TTUN in football and holding North Carolina to just 49 points in men’s basketball), the Ohio State women’s basketball team joined in, upsetting No. 2 Louisville 67-60. The Cardinals were 8-0 before the Buckeyes got to them on Thursday night.

While the women’s basketball team is unranked (for now), the men’s basketball team is gradually making their case for the No. 1 spot. Just what Ohio State fans’ egos need.