clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State’s women’s track and field team wins the 2019 conference indoor title

The Buckeye women bested the Big Ten field by nearly 30 points to secure the title.

Twitter | @OhioStateTFXC

Over two days in Ann Arbor, Mich., the Ohio State women’s track and field team amassed an impressive 29-point victory to win the third Big Ten conference title in program history, and the first since 2015.

Indiana was the runner-up with 83 points, followed by Iowa (80), Wisconsin (77), and Nebraska (68).

In addition to the team title, two Buckeyes earned a combined three individual B1G championships as well. Senior thrower Sade Olatoye took home the titles in the weight throw (24.07 meters/78-11.75) and shot put (meet-record 17.88 meters/58-8), matching her 2017 feat. Additionally, sophomore sprinter Anavia Battle won in the 200 meters, scoring a meet-record time of 22.80 seconds.

If you weren’t able to head up to that state up north to check out the meet in person, the Big Ten Network will air coverage of the Big Ten Indoor Track & Field Championships at 5:30 p.m. ET Tuesday.

Battle and Olatoye were the only Buckeyes on the B1G Women’s Indoor Track and Field First Team, but they were joined by senior distance runner Julia Rizk on the second team.

Also on the weekend, the OSU men’s team finished sixth, despite picking up 27 points in the sprints.

Junior Frank Hayes (First Team), sophomore sprinter Andre Jeff (Second Team), junior sprinter Terry Johnson (Second Team), and senior jumper DaJuan Seward (Second Team) made the Big Ten’s Men’s Indoor Track and Field All-Conference teams.